7QT: 7 – Recruitment Conversation Tips for Members

YAY Sorority Recruitment Time!

We have been working conversation really hard today. I know it’s hard to imagine having to “practice” making a friend, talking to them, and being genuine, but there are loads of things to remember about getting to know someone in a fast setting. Much like speed dating, it’s a short window where you find out if these girls are worth knowing more about, and it’s exciting and fun!

Some of our girls (including myself, even still) get caught up on rough patches they had and one of my dotsicles put it so great today: “It’s less of an interview and more of a conversation.” Don’t ACT genuine, BE genuine!

Here are just a couple things to keep in the back of your mind as a member as recruitment quickly approaches all across the country. Most of these are either things I heard today in feedback, gave today as feedback, or actually happened to me in the process of recruitment in years past. Enjoy the stories. 🙂

  1. Be yourself!
    This is THE most important thing in all of formal recruitment. If Potential New Members (PNM’s) see that you are being real with them, showing your true colors (appropriately, of course), they’ll be real with you, and you’re well on your way to becoming friends already. Phone voices, and saying you like things if you don’t, are both not ideal… If that girl ends up on your porch on Bid Night because she said she liked waffles and that made her pick you because you said, “Oh man, me too!” but you hate waffles…Just. Yikes. Hopefully someone else in the house will be there to have that waffle connection. You know? Just. Be true to who you are. << Watch that. You’re welcome.
  2. Ask unique questions.
    These poor girls will be asked the same thing at every house. This was my life when I went through recruitment:Member’s question stream, with my small responses included:

    • Oh, you’re from Colorado?
    • Wow, the weather must be really different from here, then.
    • Do you go skiing a lot?
    • My family has a house/condo/cabin in Breckenridge. Is that close to where you live?

    I was totally ready by house #6 to walk in and say: “YES, I didn’t lie to you and I’m from Colorado. It’s only cold in the winter, I only ski about once a year, I am not wealthy enough to ski at Breck, let alone own a house/cabin/condo there, and I live in south Denver, which is about 2+ hours from there.”

    That didn’t help me get to know anyone, and it really didn’t help anyone get to know me. A question that I like to ask people is what they plan on doing with their major in the future. That can open doors to conversations about dream jobs, passions, hobbies, all naturally. Just because you’re a ChemE doesn’t mean you are going to have “Chemical Engineer” on your resume for the rest of your career. I’ve learned so much about my sisters this week by finding out what they want to do. For example, we have a sophomore who is a Biochemistry major, but interested in Pre-Law because she wants to be a Patent Attorney. That is…Totally different from biochem, but something that is fascinating, and takes it to a bit of a deeper level. Not only can you read her answer from that, but also read how she answers, and see if she enjoys the deeper level of conversation.

    Just. Don’t ask about where people live, what they did at orientation, blah blah etc. You don’t have to know why they picked this university, even. It might be a good convo starter, but it’s going to die. It ultimately doesn’t matter, because they’re already there, no matter how they got there. Because in the end, all those things aren’t the things we’re looking for in a sister. We didn’t pick PC ’12 just because they all did the Float Trip. Talk about something that will matter.

  3. Go with the flow!
    Serious, people. You don’t want this to feel like rapid-fire question stream about everything you think you should talk about. Pick out something to ask them to expand on. Or if your conversation gets off track and you spend the whole time talking about cats (true story from someone else), do it! That makes you memorable and establishes a real connection. Also remember that mistakes happen! Verbal bids (bad bad bad) and nervousness are real concerns, but if you don’t acknowledge their existence, chances are the PNM did not even notice either. The moment you try to take that verbal bid back (“See you later..uh, I mean..I’ll see…uh…Bye!”), they’ll notice something was wrong to begin with. If you do have a bit of awkwardness because of your nervousness, don’t be afraid to admit that though! You’re human, and they’ll probably like to hear that you’re nervous and it’s your first go-round at this as well.
  4. Tie it in.
    Stories!!!!!!! Stories about you and your sisters, FOR SURE. She just told you about how her dance team placed first at a competition? Tell a funny or cool story about one of your sisters that also happens to be on the dance team. Not eeeeverything should come back to the house, technically, but definitely keep it in mind! This is your time to showcase how awesome your sisters are and how much you love them. Brag on em, but then ask a follow up question, for sure! If they’re pre-med, and volunteer in a hospital, say: Elizabeth is pre-med too, but she is hoping to work more in a clinic setting. Do you like the hospital, or do you see yourself in a different setting? Even the small mention of your sister will just keep kind of bringing your house to mind. It shows you know people for real, and might make them want to get to know those people too.
  5. Don’t be an almanac.
    We have a large population of our house that are tour guides for our campus. It’s easy to go into tour mode. Today, when I asked if all of her classes were as small as her French class (only like 3), she replies, “The average class size in 19.” And I told her, “Girl, I asked about YOU! I want to know that your geology class is huge but nobody attends, your math class is mini because it’s a night class and your poli sci class cuts straight into your afternoon naptime.” You don’t need to sell the school. They’re already here. Now it’s time to show off the house’s personality.
  6. On the other hand, know your facts.
    I have a very small major (80ish). I know everyone, especially girls, because it is male-heavy. Last year, we were practicing with another house. I could tell where she was going with her conversation. “We have a lot of diverse majors in this house. What is your major?” I could tell she was so ready with names of people in English, Psychology, Management, Biology, etc. I told her mine and she said, “Oh…I think we have a girl in that.” Well, the answer to that one is no. You don’t have a girl in that, and I hope I wasn’t a PNM picking a house based on people that had my major, because I would have been severely disappointed on Bid Night if I found out that wasn’t true. HA. I laugh about it now, but not a lie, I was kind of that girl when I went through recruitment. I was like, “OMG 2 GIRLS IN THIS HOUSE ARE IN MY MAJORRRR.” But nothing was more awkward that the conversation I had with her after that. It just sort of made me doubt everything she was telling me, and it also showed that she didn’t REALLY know her sisters as well.
  7. Make it as personal as possible!
    “Oh, we have a girl in that.” ERRRRRR!!!!”Oh, lots of girls in our house do that.” EERRRRRR!”Oh, I think we have people that are in that.” EEEEEERRRRR!If you know you have a girl in it, say her name and tell a relevant story. Because otherwise, you’ll say: “Oh, Elizabeth is pre-med too..” and that will get back, “uh…cool.” And if not lots of people don’t do it, don’t say lots. Use names as much as possible. It shows you know your sisters and you love each other.

Yay so it’s 2am, but those are just some things we worked on today and I had reflected and thought about my past recruitments. I hope it’s helpful, and that Recruitment goes according to plan and that you have the best incoming PC’s ever! (Besides ours, because it will be the LITERAL best.)

Thoughts?

