Weekend Update. with…Not Seth Meyers.

E-Mart food court:
This is the most efficient system I’ve seen. There are plastic versions of all the food options in a case next to a cash register. You then pay for your meal and get a ticket with a number on it. Then you wait for your number to appear on a board and you go up to your designated restaurant and pick up your food. I’ve decided that food here breeds a country full of non-picky eaters. Many restaurants serve one thing. You walk into a dakgalbi restaurant and that is all they serve so you sit down and they immediately bring it out for you. There’s no room for substitution here; no such thing as “Can I have something else?”

Anyway, onto the homestay:

  • Buses are extremely comfortable. Big seats, pre-reclined, perfect for sleeping.
  • We had dinner with her family (except for her 1st younger sister), at a Western restaurant owned by her uncle. It was good, I had cream sauce spaghetti inside a sweet bread bowl…Not really western, but very good, none the less. Haha
  • I woke up and learned how to make potato pancakes (kamjajeon) from Min Kyung’s grandmother. They reminded me vaguely of thin latkes. They could’ve used a little more salt…Mom.
  • Sunday we went to Hahoe (pronounced Ha-hweh) Village, in Andong. Come to find out, Andong is even more south than Uljin…I looked it up on the map when I got home. We drove to Kyongsangbuk Province! Distance wise, it’s like taking a guest maybe to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, but essentially, it’s like taking them to Yellowstone. 
  • There we saw a traditional mask dance (Hahoe Tal), which was a nobleman parody in the Chosun dynasty. (Not a good time frame….1392-1910)

I had saved part of the way through. Then my internet freaked out. I lost so much just now. Not a happy camper. Oh well…I give up on the rest of that. Sorry everyone…I gave up on whatever I had here. I don’t even remember.

Talked to MK’s mother a long time on Saturday night, mostly about education. But we got there because I showed her pictures of KHC to try and explain. She said: “In Korea, we don’t understand adoption. Education is so expensive and we have to pay for our children to go to school. There is not enough money for other children.”

It’s very much a “my child,” “not my child” mentality here still. There are stats that say domestic adoption, multicultural families and “different” family structures are more popular now, but it doesn’t mean they still aren’t looked down upon by the majority of everyone else. Interesting thought.

Sorry this is short. It was better…Until I lost it all.

P.S. Lucky by Britney Spears came on the radio on the way to Andong yesterday. Day made.

    Thoughts?

    